# EASTLAND SCHOOL DISTRICT #308 SPECIAL MEETING CANVASS OF CERTIFIED RESULTS AND BOARD REORGANIZATION April 24, 2019 6:35 p.m.

#### Lorrie Heeren, Presiding

**MEMBERS PRESENT**: Diann Cassens, Lorrie Heeren, Brian Heldt, Karl Henze, Anthony Preston, Steven Snider, and Jennifer Sturtevant

### ADMINISTRATORS PRESENT: Mark D. Hansen

**OTHERS PRESENT**: Michele Hartman, Chad Waller (Board member elect)

### ➤ <u>READING OF APRIL 24, 2019 ELECTION RESULTS</u>

Precinct vote totals as certified by Brian Woessner, Carroll County Clerk, for the April 2, 2019 Consolidated Election were presented:

Karl Henze	273	4-year term
Diann Cassens	254	4-year term
Brian Heldt	242	4-year term
Chad Waller	235	4-year term

A motion was made by <u>Snider</u> and seconded by <u>Heldt</u> to accept the election results, as presented. Voice vote showed all ayes. <u>Motion carried.</u>

A motion was made by <u>Cassens</u> and seconded by <u>Snider</u> to proclaim the following candidates duly elected members of the Eastland CUSD #308 Board of Education:

### Karl Henze – Diann Cassens – Brian Heldt – Chad Waller

Voice vote showed all ayes. Motion carried.

### SWEARING IN OF BOARD MEMBER:

The newly elected member took the oath of office. Dr. Hansen invited Chad Waller to take a seat.

#### RECOGNITION OF RETIRING MEMBER:

Retiring member and current President Lorrie Heeren was recognized for her 9 years of service on the Board. Dr. Hansen thanked her personally and on behalf of the staff, students and communities. Lorrie mentioned it had been an honor to serve. She also thanked Dr. Hansen and fellow board members, wishing everyone good luck in the years to come.

## ➢ <u>REVIEW AND ADOPTION OF AGENDA:</u>

A motion was made by <u>Heldt</u> and seconded by <u>Sturtevant</u> to approve the Agenda as presented. Voice vote showed all ayes. <u>Motion carried.</u>

#### **OLD BUSINESS:**

Dr. Hansen was appointed as President Pro-Tem until a new President was elected.

### **REORGANIZATION OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION:**

Dr. Hansen opened the floor for nominations for President of the Board. <u>Steven Snider</u> and <u>Jennifer</u> <u>Sturtevant</u> were nominated for the position of President.

A motion was made by <u>Henze</u> and seconded by <u>Heldt</u> to close nominations for the office of President. Voice vote showed all ayes.

Roll call vote for Steven Snider showed the following voting aye: Diann Cassens, Chad Waller, Brian Heldt, Anthony Preston, Steven Snider, and Jennifer Sturtevant. Karl Henze voted nay. The vote being 6-1, <u>Steven Snider</u> was declared <u>President</u>.

President Snider opened the floor for nominations for Vice-President of the Board. <u>Karl Henze</u> and <u>Jennifer Sturtevant</u> were nominated for the position of Vice-President. <u>Karl Henze</u> withdrew his nomination. As only one member was nominated for the position of Vice-President, President Snider declared <u>Jennifer Sturtevant</u> as Vice-President.

President Snider opened the floor for nominations for Secretary of the Board. <u>Diann Cassens</u> was nominated for the position of Secretary. As only one member was nominated for the position of Secretary, President Snider declared <u>Diann Cassens</u> as Secretary.

### > <u>APPROVAL OF CONTRACTS IN FORCE</u>

A motion was made by <u>Henze</u> and seconded by <u>Snider</u> that the Board of Education renew and retain the following agreements:

- Norm Brinkmeier as District Treasurer
- Michele Hartman as Board Recording Secretary
- Ratify and retain Board of Education Policies and Contracts in Force
- Approve and retain professional services for the District from the following:
  - Architect Richard L. Johnson and Associates
  - Attorney Ward, Murray, Pace and Johnson
  - Auditor The Benning Group
- Approval of the schedule for regular Board of Education meeting dates for the remainder of the fiscal year:
  - Wednesday, May 15, 2019 @ EJSHS 6:30 p.m.

o Wednesday, June 19, 2019 @ EJSHS - 6:30 p.m.

Voice vote showed all ayes. Motion carried.

## **NEW BUSINESS:**

## ➤ <u>COMMITTEE ASSIGNMENTS:</u>

The board discussed committee assignments and agreed to the following:

- Curriculum (Cassens, Sturtevant)
- Facilities (Henze, Preston)
- Policy (Cassens, Henze)
- Transportation (Preston, Waller)
- Finance (Heldt, Snider)
- Negotiations (Heldt, Preston, Snider)

# ► <u>1<sup>st</sup> READING OF 2019-20 MEETING DATES</u>

The board heard a first reading of proposed meeting dates for 2019-20. Action to approve the Regular Meeting schedule will be set for the May meeting.

## **CLOSED SESSION:**

The Board did not enter into Closed Session.

# > <u>APPROVAL OF PERSONNEL:</u>

A motion was made by <u>Heldt</u> and seconded by <u>Preston</u> to approve the following personnel actions:

- Approved the renewal and reassignment of <u>Chelsea Hasken</u> from Asst. Girls' Basketball Coach for Freshman to Asst. Coach for Girls' Basketball Coach for Fresh-Soph for the 2019-20 school year.
- Approved the hire of <u>Anna Drake</u> as Asst. Girls' Basketball Coach for Freshman for the 2019-20 school year.
- Approved and accepted the resignation/retirement of **Dan Beyer** as Bus Driver effective May 22, 2019.
- Approved continuing to post all other vacancies previously approved.

### **ADJOURNMENT:**

A motion was made by <u>Heldt</u> and seconded by <u>Preston</u> to adjourn at 7:04 p.m. Voice vote showed all ayes. <u>Motion carried</u>.

These minutes are not official until approved by the Board of Education.

Steven Snider, President

Diann Cassens, Secretary

April 24, 2019