EASTLAND SCHOOL DISTRICT #308 SPECIAL MEETING CANVASS OF CERTIFIED RESULTS AND BOARD REORGANIZATION

April 26, 2017

6:30 p.m.

William Woessner, Presiding

<u>Members Present:</u> Diann Cassens, Lorrie Heeren, Brian Heldt, Karl Henze, Steven Snider, Jennifer Sturtevant and William Woessner

Administrators Present: Mark D. Hansen, Monica Burkholder

Others Present: DiAnn Adolph, Anthony Preston (Board member elect)

Reading of April 4, 2017 Election Results

Precinct vote totals as certified by Brian Woessner, Carroll County Clerk, for the April 4, 2017 Consolidated Election were presented:

Jennifer Sturtevant	696	4-year term
Anthony Preston	565	4-year term
Steven Snider	508	4-year term
Lawrence Hasken	486	4-year term

A motion was made by <u>Cassens</u> and seconded by <u>Heldt</u> to proclaim the following candidates duly elected members of the Eastland CUSD #308 Board of Education:

Jennifer Sturtevant – Anthony Preston – Steven Snider

Voice vote showed all ayes. **Motion carried.**

> Swearing in of Board Members:

The three (3) newly elected members took their oaths of office. Dr. Hansen invited Anthony Preston to take a seat.

Recognition of Retiring Member:

Retiring member and President Bill Woessner was recognized for his 12 years of service on the Board. Dr. Hansen thanked him personally and on behalf of the staff, students and communities. Bill spoke briefly about the pride he feels for Eastland and encouraged those present to keep progressing and moving forward.

Review and Adoption of Agenda:

A motion was made by <u>Heeren</u> and seconded by <u>Sturtevant</u> to approve the Agenda as presented. Voice vote showed all ayes. <u>Motion carried.</u>

April 26, 2017 Page 1 of 4

Old Business:

Dr. Hansen was appointed as President Pro-Tem until a new President was elected.

Reorganization of the Board of Education:

Dr. Hansen opened the floor for nominations for President of the Board. <u>Steven Snider</u>, <u>Lorrie Heeren</u> and <u>Diann Cassens</u> were nominated for the position of President.

A motion was made by <u>Henze</u> and seconded by <u>Sturtevant</u> to close nominations for the office of President. Voice vote showed all ayes. <u>Steven Snider</u> withdrew his nomination.

Roll call vote for Lorrie Heeren showed the following voting aye: Diann Cassens, Lorrie Heeren, Brian Heldt, Anthony Preston, Steven Snider, and Jennifer Sturtevant. Karl Henze voted nay. The vote being 6-1, she was declared **President**.

President Heeren opened the floor for nominations for Vice-President of the Board. <u>Diann Cassens</u> was nominated for the position of Vice-President.

A motion was made by <u>Henze</u> and seconded by <u>Heldt</u> to close nominations for the office of Vice-President. Voice vote showed all ayes. As only one member was nominated for the position of Vice-President, President Heeren declared **Diann Cassens** as Vice-President.

President Heeren opened the floor for nominations for Secretary of the Board. **Jennifer Sturtevant** was nominated for the position of Secretary.

A motion was made by <u>Henze</u> and seconded by <u>Cassens</u> to close nominations for the office of Secretary. Voice vote showed all ayes. As only one member was nominated for the position of Secretary, President Heeren declared <u>Jennifer Sturtevant</u> as Secretary.

> Approval of Contracts in Force

A motion was made by <u>Heldt</u> and seconded by <u>Cassens</u> that the Board of Education renew and retain the following agreements:

- Norm Brinkmeier as District Treasurer
- DiAnn Adolph as Board Recording Secretary
- Ratify and retain Board of Education Policies and Contracts in Force
- Approve and retain professional services for the District from the following:
 - Architect Richard L. Johnson and Associates
 - o Attorney Ward, Murray, Pace and Johnson
 - o Auditor The Benning Group
- Approval of the schedule for regular Board of Education meeting dates for the remainder of the fiscal year:
 - o Monday, May 15, 2017 @ EJSHS 6:30 p.m.
 - o Wednesday, June 21, 2017 @ EJSHS 6:30 p.m.

April 26, 2017 Page 2 of 4

Roll call vote showed Cassens, Heeren, Heldt, Henze, Preston, Snider and Sturtevant voting aye. **Motion** carried.

New Business:

Committee Assignments:

The board discussed committee assignments and agreed to the following:

- Curriculum (Sturtevant, Cassens)
- District Improvement Team (Sturtevant)
- Finance (Snider, Heeren)
- Negotiations (Heeren, Snider, Heldt)
- Facilities (Preston, Henze)
- Policy (Henze, Cassens)
- Transportation (Heldt, Preston)

Closed Session:

A motion was made by <u>Henze</u> and seconded by <u>Heldt</u> to enter into closed session at 7:00 p.m. to consider information regarding:

• The appointment, employment, compensation, discipline, performance, or dismissal of specific employees of the District or legal counsel for the District, including hearing testimony on a complaint lodged against an employee or against legal counsel for the District to determine its validity. 5 ILCS 120/2(c)(1).

Roll call vote showed Cassens, Heeren, Heldt, Henze, Preston, Snider and Sturtevant voting aye. **Motion** carried.

A motion was made by <u>Henze</u> and seconded by <u>Heldt</u> to exit closed session at 7:40 p.m. Voice vote showed all ayes. <u>Motion carried.</u>

A motion was made by <u>Henze</u> and seconded by <u>Heldt</u> to approve closed session minutes. Voice vote showed all ayes. <u>Motion carried.</u>

> APPROVAL OF PERSONNEL:

Personnel:

A motion was made by **Heldt** and seconded by **Henze** to approve the following personnel actions:

- Approve the hire of <u>Michele Hartman</u> as Bookkeeper/Assistant to the Superintendent with a start date of September 5, 2017.
- Approve a 10-month purchased service contract with **DiAnn Adolph** to provide payroll, training, and consulting services from November 1, 2017 August 31, 2018.
- Approve the hire of <u>Cindy Tigges</u> as a long-term substitute teacher for 2nd grade with an estimated start date of October 6, 2017 through the conclusion of the first semester.

April 26, 2017 Page 3 of 4

- Approve the hire of <u>Chris Dertz</u> as a Jr. High Football Coach for the E-PC cooperative for 2017.
- Approve and accepted the retirement of <u>Shirley Wyckoff</u> as bus driver effective May 24, 2017.
- Approve and accepted the resignation of <u>Adam Head</u> as special education teacher effective at the conclusion of the 2016-17 school year.
- Approve **Tom Grant** as a volunteer bus aide.
- Approve continuing to post for a vacancy for the position of elementary self-contained classroom teacher for the 2017-18 school year.
- Approve posting or continuing to post the following differential vacancies:
 - Assistant Theater Director
 - o Freshman Volleyball Coach
 - o Jr. High Volleyball Coach
 - o 8th Grade Boys' Basketball Coach
 - o Asst. Baseball Coach for 2018

A motion was made by <u>Heldt</u> and seconded by <u>Snider</u> to adjourn at 7:50 p.m. Voice vote showed all ayes. <u>Motion carried</u>.

These minutes are not official until approv	red by the Board of Education.
Lorrie Heeren, President	Jennifer Sturtevant, Secretary

April 26, 2017 Page 4 of 4